
WILSON COUNTY OUTDOOR BURN PROCEDURES 
DURING A BURN BAN

ALL BURNING MUST BE DONE IN THE UNINCORPORATED AREAS OF WILSON 
COUNTY (NOT WITHIN THE CITY LIMITS OF ANY MUNICIPALITY). 

All burns must follow the TCEQ Outdoor Burn Regulations for Texas and Wilson 
County Burn Ban Procedures. 

All burns other than these Exceptions (Firefighter Training, Fires for Cooking, 
and Domestic Waste Burning) must be permitted through the Wilson County 
Health & Public Safety Office during a BURN BAN.  

Exceptions: 

• Firefighter Training must be done by a Fire Department.
• Domestic waste—in other words, household trash or rubbish—may be burned. 

To qualify for this exception, the waste must
o Come from a property that is 

� (1) designed to be a private residence and  
� (2) used exclusively as a private residence for no more than three 

families. 

o Be burned on the property where it was produced. For example, kitchen
garbage, untreated lumber, cardboard boxes, packaging, clothing, grass,
leaves, and branch trimmings.

o Be burned in a barrel with a means of controlling sparks and embers from
leaving the barrel (screen or grate), with a way of controlling and keeping
the fire from spreading and

o Be monitored during burning by an adult with a means of extinguishing the
fire.

• Cooking Fires should be done using caution, with a way of controlling and 
keeping the fire from spreading and monitored during burning by an adult with a 
means of extinguishing the fire and other burns as required by the Outdoor 
Burning Regulations of Texas  

All other burns will be subjected to the permitting process. 

To receive a permit to burn: 

Call the Wilson County Health & Public Safety Office at (830) 393-8503 Press 1 for 
Burn Permits, during normal business hours (8 AM -1200 noon and 1 PM - 5 PM) on 
the business day before you would like to burn. 

Weekends and/or Holidays burn permits must be obtained on the buisness day 
before the Weekend and/or Holiday between 1:30 PM and 4:30 PM. (The Fire 
Weather Forecast Information by the National Weather Service for weekends is posted 
between 1:30 PM and 3:30 PM Daily). 
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WILSON COUNTY OUTDOOR BURN PROCEDURES 
DURING A BURN BAN

Before a burn permit is issued this information is required: 

Who: 

What: 

Where: 

When: 

How: 

What is the Name of the responsible party doing the burn and a phone 
number at the burn site where the responsible party can be reached. 

What you are burning. 

What is the Address where the burn is being done. 

What Time do you want to start the burn? 

How are you going to control the fire and keep it from spreading? 

Requirements When there is a BURN BAN  

• Begin burning no earlier than 1/2 hour after sunrise and no burning is allowed 
after dark

• Burning must end the same day
• A responsible party must be present while the burn is active, flames are 

visible and/or the fire is progressing.
• Winds must be from 6 to 10 mph during the burn period.
• Burning during temperature inversions or air stagnation advisories is prohibited.
• Begin or continue burning only when wind direction and other weather conditions 

are such that smoke and other pollutants will not present a hazard to any public 
road, landing strip, or navigable water (e.g. lake, river, stream or bay) or have an 
adverse effect on any off-site structure containing “sensitive receptors.”

• Post someone to flag traffic if at any time the burning causes or may tend to 
cause smoke to blow onto or across a road or highway.

• Keep fires downwind of, or at least 300 feet (90 meters) away, from any 
neighboring structure that contains sensitive receptors. This requirement may be 
waived only with the prior written approval of whoever owns or rents the adjacent 
property and either resides or conducts business there.

• No burning in Subdivisions except for the Exceptions allowed. 
• Agricultural burning is required to have a Burn Permit.  
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