## $\star\star\star$ PLEASE READ BEFORE CALLING $\star\star\star$ JUSTICE COURT - WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS

#### **JUSTICE COURT, Precinct 1**

800 10TH Street, Box 8 Floresville, TX 78114 830-393-5112 - Fax 830-393-5213 JP1@WILSONCOUNTYTX.GOV

# JUSTICE COURT, Precinct 2

PO Box 626 - 121 Dilworth Plaza Poth, TX 78147

830-484-2356 - Fax 830-484-2890

#### **JUSTICE COURT, Precinct 3**

PO Box 503 - On FM 775 1 mi. So. US 87 La Vernia, TX 78121 830-779-2285 - Fax 830-779-4425

#### JUSTICE COURT, Precinct 4

800 10th Street, Box 6 Floresville, TX 78114 830-393-4052 - Fax 830-393-5149

## ALL OFFICES ACCEPT VISA, MASTER CARD, DISCOVER, AMERICAN EXPRESS Pay Citation Online AT (www.co.wilson.tx.us)

- 1. This letter is furnished as a COURTESY to you by the Justice Courts of Wilson County, Texas to assist you in making a disposition of the charge or charges filed against you.
- 2. IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF NOT GUILTY and desire a trial, you must so indicate on page 3 in the proper space provided.
- 3. IF YOU WISH TO ENTER A PLEA OF GUILTY OR NOLO CONTENDERE, please so indicate on page 3 in the proper space provided.
- 4. The fine for a Nolo Contendere plea is the same as that for a plea of Guilty. Either plea indicates that you agree to waive appearance before the Court for trial by jury.
- 5. You must refer to the schedule shown on page 2 of this letter to determine the total amount of your fine(s) and costs assessed against you.

#### CDL HOLDERS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DSC AND ANY DEFERRED DISPOSITION.

#### Not eligible if cited 25 mph over posted speed limit.

- You have the right to request a Driving Safety Course approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation [Education Agency], if not completed one in the past year prior to this citation, a thru g MUST be complied with on or before due date and time shown on your citation. If by mail, post mark must be on or before due date shown on citation.
  - a. Sign an affidavit furnished on this form (page 4).
  - b. Pay Court Cost of \$122.10 also pay Administration Fee of \$9.90 for a total of \$132.00 (Money Order or Cashier's Check. Not Refundable) (If in school zone, add \$25.00)
  - c. You must have a valid Texas Driver's License or Permit. Please submit copy of driver's license.
  - d. You must provide proof of liability or financial responsibility as provided in Transportation Code 601.
  - e. Request must be in person or by mail. If in writing, reply must be POSTMARKED ON OR BEFORE APPEARANCE DATE ON CITATION.
  - f. All of the above must be complied with before a Safety Course will be approved.
  - g. If approved, you will receive paperwork to proceed with, and complete the Defensive Driving Course within 90 days.
- 7. If you receive a citation for failure to maintain financial responsibility (No Liability Insurance) and you have insurance in effect at time of issuance of the citation and show proof to the court, your case will be dismissed. (Unless it is a Commercial Motor Vehicle Violation –Fine Only)
- 8. Make your remittance payable to **WILSON COUNTY JUSTICE COURT** by Cashier's Check, Money Order, or Credit Card (Personal check not accepted) Return your copy of the Citation and this letter with your remittance to assure proper credit.
- 9. No one in this office gets any portion of this fine, it goes to the State and County. All employees are on a fixed salary.
- 10. IF YOU FAIL TO RESPOND TO THIS CHARGE BY THE APPEARANCE DATE AND TIME SHOWN ON THE CITATION, an additional charge may be filed against you for VIOLATE PROMISE TO APPEAR, and warrants issued for your arrest. YOUR PROMPT ATTENTION TO THIS MATTER WILL BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

NO PERSONAL CHECKS WILL BE ACCEPTED



# JUSTICE COURT – WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS SCHEDULE OF ACCEPTABLE FINES

This schedule includes Consolidated Court Cost \$40.00; State Traffic Fee \$50.00; Security Fee \$4.00; Arrest Fee \$5.00; Traffic Fund \$3.00; Justice Court Technology Fund \$4.00; Jury Fee \$4.00; Support of Judiciary \$6.00; Indigent Fee \$2.00; Moving Violation Fee 10¢; Transaction Fee \$2.00; Truancy Fee \$2.00; Credit Cards will have an additional processing fee. An additional \$25.00 is collected from a person who seeks to pay over a period of time that exceeds 30 days.

Display Expired Driver's License	
No Driver's License	
No Driver's License - Commercial	\$270.00
Permitting unlicensed person or minor to drive	\$170.00
Violation of driver's license restriction	
DWLI (1st)	\$317.00
Equipment Violations	
Failed to dim headlights - meeting or following	\$150.00
Failed to maintain financial responsibility (no Liability Insurance)	
Failure to yield right-of-way	\$210.00
Following too closely	
Illegal, unsafe or improper turn	
Passing in No-Passing Zone	
Registration violation	
Running stop sign or signal light	
Seat Belt violation (driver/passenger)	
Seat Belt violation (under 17)	
Seat Belt violation (under 8)	
Failure to control speed	
Unsafe speed	
Speeding 1 to 10 miles over speed limit	
11 to 15 miles over speed limit	\$210.00
16 to 20 miles over speed limit	
Window Tint Violation	
Wrong side of roadway	
mong side of following	ψ210.00

**NOTE:** For any violation in a construction zone - when workers are present - Fines Double, Contact Court.

**NOTE:** For any violation involving school bus or school zone Contact Court.

**NOTE:** For any violation not covered above, you must contact the Court.

\*If requesting receipt, enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope\*



#### **REPLY FORM**

### DO NOT COMPLETE THIS PORTION IF REQUESTING DRIVING SAFETY COURSE. (SEE PG. 4)

## PLEA AND PAYMENT BY CREDIT CARD AVAILABLE ONLINE AT WWW.CO.WILSON.TX.US

Check one and Mail to the Justice Court on the front of this letter.

I hereby enter a plea of Not Guilty for your court Appearance Date to fill		dge) (Jury) <u>circle one.</u>	**MUST CALL THE COURT
I hereby enter a plea of (circle one for trial by jury. Cashier's Check or Mon			
ALTERNATIVES TO PAYMENT OF punishable by fine only is entitled to alte pay the fine or costs, in whole or in part.	rnative methods of sat	tisfying the judgment a	
DEFENDANT'S CURRENT ADDRESS	3:		
CITY	STATE		ZIP
TELEPHONE#		D.L.#	
PLEASE PRINT NAME			
SIGNATURE			
CAUSE	NO	(Issued by the cour	t)
THE STATE OF TEXAS	§		IN THE JUSTICE COURT
v.	\$ \$ \$		PRECINCT NO
	<b>§</b> §		WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS
Charged Misdemeanor Offense:	PERSONAL APPEAL		,
I,, the been charged with the misdemeanor offens accusation against me.	the Defendant in the above indicated above. I be	ove styled and number aind myself to appear b	ed cause, acknowledge that I have before the Court to answer the
I enter into this undertaking freely and volumestas, on the day of to the Court the principal sum of \$250.00 pappear. This sum is payable to the Wilson This obligation remains in full effect until	, 20 at olus all necessary and county Justice Court.	tM. or reasonable expenses in	or upon notice by the Court, or pay accurred in any arrest for failure to
Signature of Defendant/Principal			
Defendant's Name:	De	efendant's Address:	
Defendant's Telephone Number:	Da	ate & Place of Defendant	's Birth:
Height:	W	eight:	
Hair Color:	Ey	ve Color:	
Driver's License Number (and state of issuance	ce): Ne	earest Relative's Name a	nd Address:
TAKEN AND APPROVED this day of	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	20	
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE, PRECINCT WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS	_		

# AFFIDAVIT AND REQUEST TO TAKE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE

\*see item #6, page 1 for instructions

- 1. I have not completed a Driving Safety Course (under Article 45.0511 TXCCP) for a traffic citation issued within one year of the date of the citation.
- 2. I am not currently taking nor approved to take a Driving Safety Course (under Article 45.0511 TXCCP (2) V.A.C.S.) that is not reflected on my driving record.
- 3. I do have a valid Texas Driver's License or Permit, and not a Commercial Driver's License.
- 4. I have enclosed payment of \$132.00, proof of insurance, and a copy of Driver's License.

Based upon the foregoing, I hereby waive trial by jury, enter a plea of (circle one of the following) Guilty or No Contest, and request that the Court defer proceedings for 90 days so that I may complete an approved Driving Safety Course. I understand that I MUST COMPLETE and RETURN AN ORIGINAL COURT CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION, CERTIFIED DRIVING RECORD, AND ORIGINAL REFERRAL FORM showing that I have completed a Driving Safety Course which is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation [Education Agency]. I will submit this no later than 90 days from the date the ticket was deferred. Your case will not be dismissed until all the above are received by due date.

\*\*\*NOTE: JUVENILES UNDER 17 YEARS OF AGE MUST APPEAR WITH PARENT OR GUARDIAN ON ALL VIOLATIONS.

Defendant's Signature:		
(If juvenile	e, under 17 years of age, Contact	Court)
Print Name as Shown on Driver's License:		
Defendant's Current Address:		
City	State	Zip
Telephone#	Driver's License#_	
D.O.B		
*IF JUVENILE	nder 17 (Must be signed in front	
SIGNED, APPEARED, AND OR	DERED THIS DAY OF	, 20
PRESIDING JUDGE JUSTICE OF THE PEACE WILSON COUNTY, TEXAS		